top of page

#01 HOW TO LIGHT A NIGHT SCENE (interior)


Just because you don’t have a big lighting budget doesn’t mean that you can’t light your film. You've probably asked yourself how do they light scenes on the big films. So I am gonna show you an example of how you can improve your footage with simple tips. I decided to create a night scene to show how light can change the look of your film. Firstly I positioned my camera and framed it roughly how I wanted it to be. I only left the desk lamp switched on and obviously my room was dark so I pumped my ISO to 2500 and this is what I had:

The ISO was creating way too much noise on my picture, and my lamp was completely over exposed with no detail, so I brought down the ISO to 160. The grain almost disappeared, I created mood and achieved some detail on the background, but lost the light on the face of my subject:

I wanted to create a scene where my subject was watching TV, so I decided to add a cold light from the left to simulate a light coming from a TV screen. I used a soft box with a Peacock gel and the final result is below as well as a lighting diagram with a bit more info.

This shows you how much can be created with just one soft box and a practical light on a low budget. To make it more believable I added some TV noise on the background. If you don’t already know, practicals are any lights that actually appear in the shot or on the set. So these could be desk lamps, floor lights, overhead lights or any other typical light that you might find in your average interior location. If you liked what you've just seen, don't forget to SUBSCRIBE MY CHANNEL Camera settings used: - Shutter 1/50 sec - White Balance = DAYLIGHT - ISO 160 - Lens 50mm T1.4 Lighting specs: - Soft Box on camera left (Daylight 150w) - Practical Light (Tungsten 60w)

CINEMATIC J'S
LIGHTING TIPS

#1 

Subscribe
 

 


#2

Leave your comments on my youtube channel or ideas for new videos.

 

#3

Share the videos with people or friends that are interested in filmmaking. 

#4 
ENJOY!!

bottom of page